Our biscuit reviews... (someone has to do it!)

We've decided to taste the Great British Biscuit selection on offer in all supermarkets in the UK. And what with the lockdown, what's better than a cup of tea and a good biscuit?!


We need to be specialists and this doesn't sound like such a tough job!
Yet, I haven't really appreciated how many biscuit types there are in all UK shops.

Brits eat 52 biscuits per second on average. I can't do that but over the next year, also, we're going to try over 300!

Thursday 2nd January 2020

What a time to start biscuit tasting, when I was going to be healthier this year! Oh well, healthy tea, some naughty biscuits. Could be worse.

The first biscuit... East Coast Bakehouse

Granola Crunchy with Nuts and Seeds.

 

This is light and nutty, with a hazelnut front taste and almost pistachio finish. Really good with my Regal Chai this morning. Absorbs tea quickly yet during the dunk test keeps its crunchiness. Not bad at all.

#regalchai #teaandbiscuitclub #dunktest

https://www.facebook.com/eastcoastbakehouse/

http://eastcoastbakehouse.com

Ratings

Look: 18

Taste: 20

Dunk: 20

Feel good factor!: 19

Overall: 77%

Morrisons The Best All Butter Scottish Shortbread Rounds.

 

This shortbread biscuit - 'The Best', apparently, from Morrisons - is nice and crumbly with a good buttery aftertaste. However the slow bake seems to have dried out the biscuit a little too much and I wish, personally, it was a little bit sweeter, perhaps with some sugar on top of the biscuit.

Dunk test - works brilliantly with our Roasted Apple and Hazelnut tea, with a dash of milk.

#roastedappleandhazelnut #teaandbiscuitclub

#dunktest #biscuitreview

#shortbread

Ratings

Look: 18

Taste: 17

Dunk: 19

Feel-good factor!: 16

Overall: 70%

Friday January 3rd 2020

A day in London, but before I take the train, a cup of English Breakfast and a Maryland Choc Chip Cookie - very happy mouth!

 

Soft and crumbly when briefly dunked, and with a satisfying hit of chocolate, these cookies would also pair perfectly with T&B’s Spanish Orange tea.

#englishbreakfast #spanishorange

#teaandbiscuitclub #dunktest 

#arundel #arundellondon #biscuitreview

Ratings

Look: 20

Taste: 20

Dunk: 18

Feel good factor!: 22

Overall: 80%

Saturday 4th January 2020

McVitie's Ginger Nuts.

It's the weekend, let's go nuts! Sorry.

Well, three kids waking us up at 5.50am asking if they can go downstairs and watch Peter Rabbit is always lovely!

These sweet and spicy biscuits are a match made in heaven for T&B’s Ginger and Lemon tea. Soft, smooth and peppery when dunked, this winning combination makes for a zingy afternoon pick-me-up!

 

#gingerandlemon #teaandbiscuitclub

#dunktest #nutweekend #gingernuts 

#arundel

Ratings

Look: 17

Taste: 20

Dunk: 20

Feel good factor!: 21

Overall: 78%

Sunday 5th January 2020

 

Sunday afternoon. Feet up, film on, a chance for another biscuit. I feel I'm already feeling the effects. Must do more runs! Still, it could be worse! A McVitie’s Milk Chocolate Digestive is all I need.

 

A classic. Almost. Crumbly and with just enough chocolate, these are great with any cuppa, but they take on a whole new fresh-tasting, mint-choc dimension when infused with T&B’s Peppermint tea!

 

#peppermint #teaandbiscuitclub

#mintchoc #infuse #arundelafternoon

#arundel #biscuitreview

Ratings

Look: 20

Taste: 22

Dunk: 18

Feel good factor!: 20

Overall: 80%

Monday 6th January 2020

 

My friend, Umit's birthday - how did that get in my diary? All this syncing from Facebook, my mobile, etc. means I'm never allowed to forget a birthday! Card bought, time to sit back and enjoy a McVitie’s Hobnob.

 

Oaty but light, with a slightly buttery taste and a pleasingly crumbly texture. Can't beat it really. Classic taste. It's one of my favourites. Best dunked briefly to avoid disaster!

 

#teaandbiscuitclub #dunktest

#arundel #biscuitreview

Ratings

Look: 20

Taste: 23

Dunk: 18

Feel good factor!: 22

Overall: 83%

Wednesday 8th January 2020

 

I ate biscuits yesterday but I didn't take a photo or write a review! Does it count?! Well, back to work! Oreo Original...

When I was growing up, these unique coloured sandwich cookies were a fascinating novelty only glimpsed in American films and TV shows, now they seem to be everywhere. Almost black, ornately decorated, and with a white crème filling, they offer a bittersweet taste experience. Not just for having with milk - they go well with tea too!

 

#teaandbiscuitclub #oreo 

#arundel #biscuitreview

Ratings

Look: 21

Taste: 20

Dunk: 18

Feel good factor!: 18

Overall: 77%

Thursday 9th January 2020

 

Uh-oh, Jammie Dodgers!

What a great name, my kids just love saying the words, emphasis placed on both words!

Soft and buttery shortcake biscuits, with a gleaming heart-shaped well of raspberry flavoured apple jam at the centre. They soften further when dunked and taste like pie.

 

#shortcake #applejam

#teaandbiscuitclub #dunktest

#biscuitreview #arundel

Ratings

Look: 21

Taste: 20

Dunk: 18

Feel good factor!: 20

Overall: 79%

Friday 10th January 2020

 

It's Friday, it's 6 o'clock... anyone familiar with kids TV will know Crackerjack is back on our screens, and I guess because of my enthusiasm, the kids love it too!

 

They don't need any more sugar. They arrived home after Forest School and found chocolate left over from Christmas... you could see it around their mouths! Guilty!

 

So, they got a McVitie’s Original Digestive each. Were they disappointed? No, not really, as they know the rest of the pack will be made into mummy's favourite cheesecake!

 

This is a kitchen cupboard staple, these classic biscuits need dunking only briefly to release their buttery, malty flavours and melt in your mouth - yum!

 

#teaandbiscuitclub #happyfriday

#dunktest #arundel #biscuitreview 

#crackerjack

Ratings

Look: 17

Taste: 19

Dunk: 18

Feel good factor!: 20

Overall: 74%

Saturday 11th January 2020

 

Just been out for a 10k run in the rain so I'm allowed another biscuit, and what a treat - a Fox's Viennese!

 

This is great, in fact the best sandwich!
A shortbread sandwich with chocolate in it. Crunchy, melts in your mouth. Works well dunked too!

 

#teaandbiscuitclub #arundel #biscuitreview 

#dunktest

Ratings

Look: 18

Taste: 21

Dunk: 20

Feel good factor!: 20

Overall: 79%

 

Sunday 12th January 2020

 

In a little pain from yesterdays run, I went out for another one, as I'd decided on the biscuit that needed tasting beforehand - a Fox's Chocolatey! Almost as good as the M&S chocolate biscuits.

 

We had this with a Rooibos Chocolate Fudge blend we’d just created.


Currently on a sugar high, although it appears there’s a lot of biscuit, this feels far more like a chocolate bar. I’m not complaining.

#teaandbiscuitclub #happy #sugarhigh 

#biscuitreview #dunktest

#rooiboschocolatefudge

Ratings

Look: 20

Taste: 21

Dunk: 17

Feel good factor!: 19
Overall: 77%

 

Monday 13th January 2020

 

Monday morning. Kids in school. More rain! Give me chocolate! Ah, it was in the cupboard - Bahlsen Choco Leibniz Dark.

The milk chocolate version is one of my favourites. I'd never had the dark. Wow, it's good too. Obviously more chocolate than biscuit. Crispy, buttery biscuit with good chocolate, and because it's dark it balances the biscuit without being overly sweet. It's perfectly balanced. Great with tea or on it's own! More than half way to a Rittersport!

 

#chocoleibnizdark #biscuitclub #aperfectbiscuit #arundel #teaandbiscuit #indulgent #theteaandbiscuitclub

Ratings

Look: 18

Taste: 19

Dunk: 18

Feel good factor!: 18

Overall: 73%

Tuesday 14th January 2020

 

Bahlsen Choco Leibniz Milk.

It's still one of my favourites. Yesterday's dark chocolate version was really good, but milk... wow! More chocolate than biscuit. Crispy, buttery biscuit with great chocolate. Perfectly balanced. Great with tea. Dunks perfectly.

 

Have the Germans nailed the best biscuit? Is it this versus a Chocolate Hobnob?! 

 

#chocoleibniz #biscuitclub #goodbiscuit #arundel #teaandbiscuit #indulgent #theteaandbiscuitclub #biscuitreview

Ratings

Look: 18

Taste: 21

Dunk: 18

Feel good factor!: 20

Overall: 77%

 

Wednesday 15th January 2020

 

Half way through the month. Is biscuit tasting meant to be this tough?! I need a break, but it's months 'til Easter!

Jacksons Hot Cross Bun with Tea-Infused Fruits. 

 

Not exactly a biscuit, but I really enjoyed this with a cup of T&B English Breakfast. Moist, plump fruits and mixed spice make this a very good hot cross bun! Palm oil free too! It's a winner!

 

#hotcrossbun #biscuitclub #teainfusedbun #arundel #teaandbiscuit #indulgent #theteaandbiscuitclub #biscuitreview #hotcrossbunreview

Ratings

Look: 19

Taste: 21

Dunk: 10

Feel good factor!: 20
Overall: 70%

Thursday 16th January 2020

Lyons Viscount.

It's another wet day - it's been raining for months! Better memories of this when I was 14!

 

Good with a coffee but not really tea. Milk chocolate with mint and shortcake. Can't really taste the chocolate, the peppermint flavouring is too strong. What a disappointment. I remember it being so much better!

#viscount #biscuitclub #mintbiscuit #arundel

#teaandbiscuit #indulgent #theteaandbiscuitclub 

#biscuitreview

Ratings

Look: 20

Taste: 17

Dunk: 17

Feel good factor!: 17

Overall: 71%

Friday 17th January 2020

 

Crackerjack day at 6.00pm!

 

Lyons Caramel Creams.

Not good. Overkill. It could have been great. What's not to like?! How many do they sell of these? How long will they last?!

 

Little shortbread with caramel flavour. Chocolate doesn't really melt in the mouth. Worse than average.

 

#caramelcream #biscuitclub #sweetbiscuit #arundel #teaandbiscuit #indulgent

#theteaandbiscuitclub #biscuitreview

Ratings

Look: 17

Taste: 16

Dunk: 18

Feel good factor!: 17

Overall: 68%

Saturday 18th January 2020

 

It's the weekend! After yesterday's very average Caramel Creams. I decided to spoil myself with... McVitie's Hobnobs Vanilla Creams!

 

Oh dear... whilst a Chocolate Hobnob scores close to 10/10, this vanilla cream is salty, I taste no vanilla, and it's just wrong. Give me a Custard Cream any day!

 

#hobnobvanillacream #biscuitclub #sweetbiscuit

#teaandbiscuit #indulgent #theteaandbiscuitclub

#biscuitreview #arundel

Ratings

Look: 19

Taste: 15

Dunk: 18

Feel good factor!: 15

Overall: 67%

 

Sunday 19th January 2020

After yet more disappointment yesterday - how, I thought, can you go wrong with a Galaxy Chunk Cookie?!

Well, whilst I love Galaxy - it's arguably the best day to day chocolate which is smooth and creamy - the cookies were so disappointing!

 

The packaging is great but the cookies are bland and floury. They're crunchy, but don't offer the smoothness of the chocolate bar. The search continues...

 

#galaxychunkcookies #biscuitclub #sweetbiscuit #arundel #teaandbiscuit #indulgent #theteaandbiscuitclub #biscuitreview

Ratings

Look: 19

Taste: 16

Dunk: 18

Feel good factor!: 16

Overall: 69%

Monday 20th January 2020

 

Morrisons The Best Lemon Scottish Shortbread Rounds.

 

Another biscuit. I like the sound of this one, and as it's one of 'The Best' from Morrisons, surely it couldn't fail to please...

Very lemony, but an average biscuit. It doesn't melt in your mouth, and there isn't really any enjoyable shortbread moment. Sad really, because we love shortbread.

 

#lemonshortcake #biscuitclub #lemonbiscuit #arundel #teaandbiscuit #biscuitreview 

#theteaandbiscuitclub

Ratings

Look: 18

Taste: 18

Dunk:18

Feel good factor!: 18

Overall: 72%

Thursday 23rd January 2020

 

These biscuit reviews are beginning to sound like Adrian Mole's diary! 

 

Back to the biscuits... Fox’s Chunkie Cookies with White Chocolate Chunks - hmmm, try saying that after two glasses of wine!

 

‘Chunkie’ by name, and definitely chunky by nature! Each thick and crunchy cookie contains a generous smattering of large white chocolate chunks. Sweet and buttery, with an unexpected coconut undernote.

Pleasingly mushy after a quick dunk. Filling, yet rather moreish. Not bad

 

#teaandbiscuitclub #dunktest #biscuitclub #arundel #teaandbiscuit #biscuitreview #theteaandbiscuitclub

Ratings

Look: 22

Taste: 20

Dunk: 20

Feel good factor!: 22

Overall: 84%

Friday 24th January 2020

 

Kids home after a tough week. They deserve a treat, they've been great this week. An Oreo Golden!

 

This is a paler version of the original Oreo, in more ways than one - these golden coloured sandwich cookies with vanilla flavoured crème filling smell much better than they taste. Kids love them, but they're not for me

 

#teaandbiscuitclub #dunktest #biscuitclub

#arundel #biscuitreview #theteaandbiscuitclub

Ratings

Look: 18

Taste: 15

Dunk: 18

Feel good factor!: 15

Overall: 66%

Saturday 25th January 2020

 

The weekend has come around so quickly. This week has flown. Time for an indulgent Fox’s Chunkie Cookies Extremely Chocolaty cookie.

 

Thick and chocolatey (obviously), with a delicate note of coconut. Not only are these cookies studded with good sized chocolate chunks, they’re also coated with chocolate on one side. Crunchy yet crumbly when undunked, pleasantly mushy when briefly dunked. I enjoyed it with a T&B’s Spanish Orange. Would also go very well with our Moroccan Mint.

 

#spanishorange #moroccanmint 

#teaandbiscuitclub #dunktest

#biscuitclub #arundel #teaandbiscuit

#biscuitreview #theteaandbiscuitclub

Ratings

Look: 22

Taste: 20

Dunk: 20

Feel good factor!: 20

Overall: 80%

Saturday 25th January 2020

The Bahlsen Choco Milk.

 

Thin and crispy biscuits with a chocolate veneer. Need a decent dunk to soften them, but don’t leave them in your tea for long or the chocolate will slide off. Similar tasting to Cadbury Milk Chocolate Fingers, but not quite as moreish.

Just realised it's Burn's night, I should have opted for a shortcake biscuit! Oh well, next year!

 

#teaandbiscuitclub #dunktest 

#teaandbiscuitclub #biscuitclub #arundel #biscuitreview #theteaandbiscuitclub

Ratings

Look: 18

Taste: 18

Dunk: 16

Feel good factor!: 18

Overall: 70%

Sunday 26th January 2020

 

Almost a month of this! I can do it, it's more difficult than you think!

 

The Lotus Biscoff...

 

Thin and crunchy, with a sweet, spicy front taste and slightly bitter ‘burnt sugar’ aftertaste. Good for dunking. One of my favourites. Also delicious with ice cream!

 

#teaandbiscuitclub #dunktest #lotusbiscoff

#biscuitclub #arundel #biscuitreview 

#theteaandbiscuitclub

Ratings

Look: 18

Taste: 22

Dunk: 18

Feel good factor!: 21

Overall: 79%

Monday 27th January 2020

 

The last week of January. McVitie’s Dark Chocolate Digestives.

 

These sweet and crumbly biscuits contrast nicely with their bitter and smooth chocolate coating. Best dunked briefly. An obvious accompaniment for many a favourite tea

#teaandbiscuitclub #biscuitclub #arundel #biscuitreview #theteaandbiscuitclub

Ratings

Look:  20

Taste: 22

Dunk: 21

Feel-good factor!: 19

Overall: 82%

Tuesday 28th January 2020

 

A bit of a McVitie's week so far. How many biscuits do they produce a week? Lots... Did you know 71 million packets of McVitie's Chocolate Digestives are eaten in the UK each year? That equates to 52 biscuits per second! So, on to... McVities Crunchy Granola Oat Bakes Cranberry.

 

Smaller than expected, but fragrant, fruity, oaty and nutty - proof that size isn’t everything! Soften nicely when dunked for several seconds, and dunking seems to enhance the flavour of the cranberries. I enjoyed mine today with a cup of T&B’s Castle Classic tea.

 

#castleclassic #teaandbiscuitclub

#dunktest #biscuitclub #arundel #biscuitreview #theteaandbiscuitclub

Ratings

Look: 16

Taste: 17

Dunk: 15

Feel-good factor!: 18

Overall: 66%

Wednesday 29th January 2020

It's Dad's birthday early next month. Obviously taking the Grandchildren and making a little bit of a party of it. Iced rings! The ultimate party biscuit!

 

I see these at every kids party. It's a staple thing. The colours clearly help, what with pinks, yellows, purples, etc. And yet the packaging states 'No artificial colours or flavours, preservatives or hydrogenated fats' - well that reduces the guilt a little!

Crispy, sweet, I love the icing too. In fact, at party I always grab one, covertly. A guilty pleasure.

#kidsparty #icerings #teaandbiscuitclub

#dunktest #biscuitclub #arundel #biscuitreview #theteaandbiscuitclub

Ratings

Look: 20

Taste: 17

Dunk: 18

Feel-good factor!: 21

Overall: 76%

Wednesday 30th January 2020

Without ending this now, I have to state we've hit bullseye at least for today - Foxes Golden Crunch Creams!

I've just collected the bicycle and a repair, which means I ran the river route down to Littlehampton in the mud, paid, collected the bike from Spokes Littlehampton run by Andy, who always does a first class job, and then cycled home.

 

I needed a sugar kick! This is as it states the 'original cream and crunch'. Great biscuit, soft cream. So delicious I've just eaten 3! Another guilty pleasure

#teaandbiscuitclub #dunktest #biscuitclub #arundel #biscuitreview #theteaandbiscuitclub

Ratings

Look: 20

Taste: 22

Dunk: 15

Feel-good factor!: 24!

Overall: 81%

Thursday 31st January 2020

 

It's the end of the month. I survived. This hasn't been as easy as I thought at all!

Whilst I'm not a fitness fanatic, I do try and stay in shape, and whilst I don't really 'watch what I eat', I'm aware that I've been eating more biscuits than usual!

Anyway... this has got to continue (instead of stop!), so what better way than to go out this month with a bang with a Morissons The Best All Butter Quadruple Chocolate Cookie!

 

It's actually very good. Lots of chocolate, dark, cream and white, and I also get lots of coconut. It's quite sickly, so no sugar in my cup of English Breakfast this morning, which works well. I have the buzzing on the side of my head. The rush is there!

#teaandbiscuitclub #dunktest #biscuitclub

#arundel #biscuitreview #theteaandbiscuitclub

Ratings

Look: 21

Taste: 21

Dunk: 16

Feel-good factor!: 21!

Overall: 79%

Saturday 1st February 2020

A pinch and a 'crunch' for the first day of the month - a Fox's Ginger Cream Crunch that is.

Ginger sandwich biscuits with ginger flavour cream filling. Lovely colour and smell. Crunchy and creamy, and gingery enough to make your tongue tingle. Good for dunking but best not submerged for long.

#teaandbiscuitclub #dunktest #biscuitclub #arundel #biscuit review #theteaandbiscuitclub

 

Ratings

Look: 20

Taste: 20

Dunk: 15

Feel-good factor!: 20

Overall: 75%

Sunday 2nd February 2020

Fox's Double Choc Crunch Creams.

Crunchy chocolate biscuits filled with a generous dollop of chocolate cream. Funnily enough, these are quite chocolaty - which is no bad thing! Best dunked briefly. 

#teaandbiscuitclub #dunktest

#biscuitclub #arundel

#biscuitreview #theteaandbiscuitclub

 

Ratings

Look: 20

Taste: 21

Dunk: 15

Feel-good factor!: 22

Overall: 78%

Monday 3rd February 2020

East Coast Bakehouse Chocolate Entombed Milk Chocolate Chunk Cookies.

After school taste test. Crunchy, too dry and not much real flavour but Ranulph loved it. Lots of chocolate for him to enjoy.

 

#teaandbiscuitclub #dunktest #biscuitclub #arundel #biscuitreview #theteaandbiscuitclub

 

Ratings

Look: 19

Taste: 16

Dunk: (In cold milk!)... 19

Feel-good factor!: 24!... (from Ranulph)

Overall: 78%

Tuesday 4th February 2020

Morissons The Best Fruit and Oat Cookies.

Another after school taste test with Ranulph. Soft with good fruit feel. Quite salty initially and then you can 'feel' the sugar. Dunks well, and the salt is offset by some decent tea.

#teaandbiscuitclub #dunktest

#biscuitclub #arundel

#biscuitreview #theteaandbiscuitclub

 

Ratings

Look: 21

Taste: 17

Dunk: 21

Feel-good factor!: 20

Overall: 79%

Wednesday 5th February 2020

Bahlsen Leibniz Butter Biscuits.

Thin, exquisitely crispy, and deliciously buttery - I was smitten after the first bite! Easy to dunk but, in my opinion, better left dry.

 

#teaandbiscuitclub #dunktest

#biscuitclub #arundel

#biscuitreview #theteaandbiscuitclub

 

Ratings

Look: 20

Taste: 25

Dunk: 15

Feel-good factor!: 25!

Overall: 85%

Thursday 6th February 2020

McVitie's Crunchy Granola Oat Bakes Dark Chocolate and Almond.

Small in size (like the cranberry variety) but big on flavour and texture. Much more almondy than chocolaty - they taste like marzipan. Crunchy, oaty, and rather too dry until dunked. Not really sweet enough for me.

#teaandbiscuitclub #dunktest #biscuitclub #arundel #biscuitreview #theteaandbiscuitclub

 

Ratings

Look: 20

Taste: 18

Dunk: 18

Feel-good factor!: 18

Overall: 74%

Friday 7th February 2020

A beautifully sunny afternoon so we took the kids for a walk after school. They were thrilled that I opened a packet of biscuits from my bag! Morrisons 'The Best' Salted Caramel Cookie. Crunchy yet in my mind tastes of sweet milkshake. Kids couldn't be happier. They finished them, I wouldn't touch one again!

#ssaltedcaramel #dunktest #biscuitclub #arundel #biscuitreview #theteaandbiscuitclub

 

Ratings

Look: 16

Taste: 10

Dunk: Didn't have the opportunity!

Feel-good factor!: Kids 19, me 0! 

Overall: 45%

Saturday 8th February 2020

Needed a break from the sweetness of yesterday. A cookie with dark chocolate! Waitrose Belgian double chocolate cookie. All butter, it really is rich and smooth. I loved it. Perfectly balanced between sweet but not over the top, crunchy with butter. Just fabulous.

#waitrosebiscuit #doublechocolatechip

#biscuitclub #arundel #biscuitreview

#theteaandbiscuitclub

 

Ratings

Look: 18

Taste: 23

Dunk: 20

Feel-good factor!: 22

Overall: 83%

Sunday 9th February 2020

Yesterday's biscuit was so good, we decided on another Waitrose biscuit, and I hate to say it, but it's even better! The weather was sunny again so we went for another walk this time along the river. After a couple of miles we stopped. This rich and nutty biscuit is exactly what it says it is. Chocolate chunks with hazelnut. Perfectly balanced, nutty with butter. Just right.

#waitrosebiscuit #arundel

#chocolatechunkandhazlenut #biscuitclub #biscuitreview #theteaandbiscuitclub

 

Ratings

Look: 18

Taste: 24

Dunk: Did not complete and ate them all before we got home

Feel-good factor!: 23

Overall: 70% plus an available 25 points to dunk!

Monday 10th February 2020

My Dad's birthday. Great weekend, two great biscuits too, so I thought I'd follow on with another Waitrose one... Belgian Triple Chocolate Chink! No surprises I'm afraid,  no I'm not sponsored by this supermarket either - it's just another good biscuit. Milk and dark, feels indulgent, crunchy with a good balance and not too sweet. Just right with my favourite Chai!

#waitrosebiscuit #triplechocolatechunk #biscuitclub #arundel #biscuitreview #theteaandbiscuitclub

 

Ratings

Look: 22

Taste: 23

Dunk: 22

Feel-good factor!: 23

Overall: 91%

Tuesday 11th February 2020

Kinder Happy Hippo Milk And Hazelnut Biscuits.

These delightfully delicious hippo-shaped wafer biscuits contain both milk and hazelnut cream, and have vanilla sprinkles on their ‘bellies’. They're light and crispy, creamy and nutty. They taste a lot like Ferrero Rocher chocolates - yum! They're not great for dunking though, unless you don’t mind getting sprinkles in your tea!

#kinder #kinderhappyhippo #biscuitclub #arundel #biscuitreview #theteaandbiscuitclub

#ferrerorcoher

 

Ratings

Look: 23

Taste: 24

Dunk: 15

Feel-good factor!: 23

Overall: 85%

Wednesday 12th February 2020

McVitie's Fruit Shortcake.

Thin shortcake rounds with currants and a sprinkling of sugar. They’re crisp, buttery and sweet, and contain a decent smattering of currants (a plus for those who like them, I don’t though). Good for dunking but they don’t need submerging for long.

#mcvities #fruitshortcake #biscuitclub #arundel #biscuitreview #theteaandbiscuitclub #dunktest

 

Ratings

Look: 19

Taste: 19

Dunk: 20

Feel-good factor!: 19

Overall: 77%

Thursday 13th February 2020

McVitie's Jaffa cakes.

Now, the obvious question where Jaffa Cakes are concerned is - are they biscuits, or are they cakes (as their name suggests)? I’m not sure which side of the fence I’m on when it comes to the answer - they’re biscuit sized and biscuit shaped, but their spongey bottoms throw me... Anyway, what’s more important is how they taste - and I’m committed to saying they’re scrumptious! I love the way the dark chocolate topping cracks when I bite into one - perfectly complementing the aforementioned sponge. Then of course there’s the orangey bit in the middle which, although tangy, is just sweet enough to balance the bitterness of the chocolate. What’s not to like?! Easier to dunk than a chocolate éclair, but I prefer not to.

#mcvities #jaffacakes #biscuitclub #arundel #biscuitreview #theteaandbiscuitclub #dunktest

 

Ratings

Look: 20

Taste: 23

Dunk: 18

Feel-good factor!: 23

Overall: 84%

Friday 14th February 2020

Oreo Cool Mint.

A winning treat for Valentine's Day - they smell delicious, taste delicious (like a crunchy version on mint-choc ice cream), and look delicious! The cream filling could be a bit more generously applied, although the flavour combination is very well balanced. Very moreish, I’d definitely buy them again!

#oreo #coolmint #mintchoc #biscuitclub #arundel #biscuitreview #theteaandbiscuitclub

 

Ratings

Look: 23

Taste: 24

Dunk: 18

Feel-good factor!: 24!

Overall: 89%

Saturday 15th February 2020

Bolands Lemon Puff BIscuits.

With their lemon flavoured filling, these crumbly, puff pastry sandwich biscuits certainly give off a citrusy scent - the taste is quite subtle though. They’re pleasant enough but aren’t really my cup of tea (excuse the pun!). Best dunked briefly, if at all.

#lemonpuff #biscuitclub #arundel

#dunktest #biscuitreview #theteaandbiscuitclub

 

Ratings

Look: 18

Taste: 18

Dunk: 15

Feel-good factor!: 15

Overall: 66%

Sunday 16th February 2020

Kinder Happy Hippo Cocoa Cream Biscuits.

Impressed by the milk and hazelnut variety of these characterful little biscuits, I was more than keen to sample the cocoa cream version. Again, they’re light, crispy and creamy but this time have a pleasing hit of chocolate - oh, and chocolate flavoured sprinkles on their ‘bellies’ instead of vanilla ones. Closer still in taste to Ferrero Rocher chocolates. Not recommended for dunking though - it can get a bit messy!

#kinder #kinderhappyhippo #ferrerorocher

#arundel #biscuitreview #theteaandbiscuitclub

 

Ratings

Look: 23

Taste: 25

Dunk: 15

Feel-good factor!: 23

Overall: 86%

Monday 17th February 2020

I was looking forward to sampling these Twix Soft Centres (by Mars), and the lovely smell of caramel that wafted out of the packet when I opened it made my mouth water. So imagine my disappoint when, on biting into one, I found the biscuit itself to be dry, with a dense rather than ‘irresistibly soft’ caramel centre - humph! Oh, and I could hardly taste the chocolate chips. Dunking did soften the filling slightly, but didn’t improve the flavours.

#twix #mars #arundel #biscuitreview

#theteaandbiscuitclub #dunktest

 

Ratings

Look: 20

Taste: 18

Dunk: 18

Feel-good factor!: 15

Overall: 71%

Tuesday 18th February 2020

 

Bounty Soft Baked Cookies (by Mars).

Now these are much more the ticket... Although smaller than their packaging suggests, these cookies are soft and moist, and taste the way you’d expect them to - of coconut and chocolate. Very sweet but very nice. Best dunked briefly, if at all.

#bounty #mars #arundel #biscuitreview

#theteaandbiscuitclub #dunktest

 

Ratings

Look: 22

Taste: 23

Dunk: 20

Feel-good factor!: 22

Overall: 87%

Wednesday 19th February 2020

 

Cadbury Dairy Milk Chocolate Fingers seem to have been around forever and are another staple at kids parties. Crunchy, creamy biscuit lengths enrobed in Cadbury milk chocolate, they’re still a tasty treat, but they’re definitely smaller than they used to be - all the more reason to reach for another one! I enjoyed a handful (they are fingers after all!) with a cup of T&Bs Blueberry Muffin tea. I wouldn't recommend dunking them though, the chocolate's too thin to withstand it.

#cadbury #cadburydairymilk #arundel #cadburychocolatefingers #biscuitreview

#theteaandbiscuitclub #dunktest

 

Ratings

Look: 20

Taste: 23

Dunk: 15

Feel-good factor!: 23

Overall: 81%

Thursday 20th February 2020

 

McVitie's Digestives Coffee Caramel.

These smell delicious - think freshly baked coffee cake! The biscuit base tastes as expected and is topped with just enough chocolate, and although the coffee flavoured caramel layer doesn’t have quite the kick I thought it would, the combination of flavours is just right. The caramel is a bit chewy, which makes for a messy eat, but this ‘issue’ is improved by dunking. I suspect they’d taste best with coffee, but they're also very nice with tea.

#mcvities #mcvitiesdigestives #arundel

#biscuitreview #theteaandbiscuitclub #dunktest

 

Ratings

Look: 20

Taste: 23

Dunk: 20

Feel-good factor!: 23

Overall: 86%

Friday 21st February 2020

 

Sainsbury's Malted Milk Biscuits.

Despite sporting the iconic cow image, these biscuits are an inferior version of the original Malted Milk (first made in 1924 by Elkes Biscuits of Uttoxeter, which is now owned by Fox’s). They’re soft and crumbly, but have none of the maltiness I was expecting - in fact, they’re quite nondescript flavour-wise. Best dunked briefly.

#sainsburys #maltedmilk #foxs #arundel

#biscuitreview #theteaandbiscuitclub #dunktest

 

Ratings

Look: 18

Taste: 16

Dunk: 15

Feel-good factor!: 16

Overall: 65%

Saturday 22nd February 2020

 

Sainsbury's Oaty Rounds.

Crunchy and oaty with a sweet aftertaste. Similar to McVitie’s Hobnobs, but not quite as thick. Good for dunking.

#sainsburys #mcvities #mcvitieshobnobs

#arundel #biscuitreview #theteaandbiscuitclub

 

Ratings

Look: 20

Taste: 20

Dunk: 22

Feel-good factor!: 19

Overall: 80%

Sunday 23rd February 2020

 

Essential Waitrose Rich Tea Finger Biscuits.

Light and crunchy with a creamy flavour, these finger biscuits are the perfect shape for dunking - and can withstand a decent dip.

#essentialwaitrose #richteafinger #dunktest

#arundel #biscuitreview #theteaandbiscuitclub

 

Ratings

Look: 20

Taste: 20

Dunk: 22

Feel-good factor!: 20

Overall: 82%

Monday 24th February 2020

These M&Ms Double Chocolate Cookies (by Mars) are very crunchy and very chocolaty, but they’re also very dry. They contain plenty of M&Ms, but I couldn’t taste them - which means they aren’t really distinguishable from other similar chocolate cookies. Best dunked - they need the moisture.

 

#m&ms #mars #arundel #biscuitreview

#theteaandbiscuitclub #dunktest

 

Ratings

Look: 22

Taste: 17

Dunk: 20

Feel-good factor!: 17

Overall: 76%

Tuesday 25th February 2020

Thurstons Almond Cookies.

Crunchy, buttery, and definitely almondy. Although these cookies have ‘no added sugar’, they’re still reasonably sweet. Taste-wise they’re a bit like Bakewell tarts (without the jam and icing). Only need a quick dunk.

 

#thurstons #bakewelltart #arundel #biscuitreview

#theteaandbiscuitclub #dunktest

 

Ratings

Look: 21

Taste: 19

Dunk: 18

Feel-good factor!: 17

Overall: 75%

Wednesday 26th February 2020

Lyons Toffypops.

Bitesize toffee filled biscuits with a chocolate flavoured topping. Slightly bitter at first bite, until the sweetness of the toffee comes through. I wouldn’t dunk these for too long, they're not substantial enough.

 

#lyons #toffypops #arundel #biscuitreview

#theteaandbiscuitclub #dunktest

 

Ratings

Look: 18

Taste: 18

Dunk: 15

Feel-good factor!: 17

Overall: 68%

Thursday 27th February 2020

As their name claims, these Oreo Double Creme cookies contain twice as much creme filling as regular Oeros. However, that’s not necessarily a good thing - in my opinion it makes them overly sweet and rather sickly.

 

#oreo #oreodoublecreme #arundel #biscuitreview

#theteaandbiscuitclub

 

Ratings

Look: 22

Taste: 18

Dunk: 18

Feel-good factor!: 17

Overall: 75%

Friday 28th February 2020

East Coast Bakehouse Triple Chocolate Chunk Cookies.

These cookies look great, with their ‘rustic’ open texture. They also contain plenty of milk, plain and white chocolate chunks, which complement each other beautifully and give a layered taste experience. Very nice!

 

#eastcoastbakehouse #arundel #biscuitreview

#theteaandbiscuitclub

 

Ratings

Look: 24

Taste: 23

Dunk: 20

Feel-good factor!: 23

Overall: 90%

Saturday 29th February 2020

Border Light and Chocolatey Viennese Whirls.

The tag line on the packaging reads ‘Chocolatey swirls of baked loveliness!’ - and these pretty little biscuits are definitely that! Delightfully crunchy yet melt in the mouth. Sweet and buttery, and coated (on the underside) with just enough chocolate. A bit too fragile for dunking.

 

#border #borderlight&chocolateyviennesewhirls

#viennesewhirls #arundel #biscuitreview

#theteaandbiscuitclub

 

Ratings

Look: 24

Taste: 24

Dunk: 12

Feel-good factor!: 23

Overall: 83%

Sunday 1st March 2020

McVitie's Hobnobs Chocolate Creams.

The combination of oaty biscuit and chocolate cream produces an almost treacly flavour - yum! Best dunked briefly, if at all.

 

#mcvitie's #mcvitieshobnobs #mcvitieshobnobschocolatecreams #arundel 

#biscuitreview #theteaandbiscuitclub

 

Ratings

Look: 22

Taste: 23

Dunk: 15

Feel-good factor!: 22

Overall: 82%

Monday 2nd March 2020

Border Lemon Drizzle Melts.

These biscuits smell divine (think old fashioned lemon sherbet) and taste great. They’re crunchy but melt in your mouth. Very nice and very moreish! Best not dunked.

 

#border #borderlemondrizzlemelts# #arundel 

#biscuitreview #theteaandbiscuitclub

 

Ratings

Look: 23

Taste: 23

Dunk: 12

Feel-good factor!: 23

Overall: 81%

Tuesday 3rd March 2020

Oreo Choc'o Brownie.

Due to their crumbliness, these are best popped into your mouth whole to avoid any mess - that’s my excuse anyway! Not as sickly-sweet as I expected them to be thanks to a good balance between the creamy chocolate brownie flavour filling and slightly bitter cookie. 

 

#oreo #oroechocobrownie# #arundel 

#biscuitreview #theteaandbiscuitclub

 

Ratings

Look: 20

Taste: 21

Dunk: 18

Feel-good factor!: 20

Overall: 79%

Wednesday 4th March 2020

Border Dark Chocolate Gingers.

Opening the packaging of these biscuits is like opening a box of chocolates - the aroma that arises form it is delicious will make your mouth water.

 

The dark chocolate coating combines perfectly with the warm spiciness of the ginger to create a flavour experience that you won’t want to end!

 

More of a special treat than an everyday biscuit. OK for dunking briefly. 

 

#border #borderdarkchocolategingers# #arundel 

#biscuitreview #theteaandbiscuitclub

 

Ratings

Look: 21

Taste: 24

Dunk: 15

Feel-good factor!: 23

Overall: 83%

Wednesday 4th March 2020

Morrisons Custard Creams.

Not bad at all for a remake of a classic. Crunchy yet crumbly, with a decent amount of custard flavoured cream in the middle.

 

They taste pretty much the way you’d expect them to. Good for dunking.

#morrisons #morrisonscustardcreams #custardcreams #biscuitclub #arundel

#theteaandbiscuitclub #biscuitreview

 

Ratings

Look: 18

Taste: 20

Dunk: 20

Feel-good factor!: 18

Overall: 76%

Thursday 5th March 2020

Morrisons Fruit Shortcake.

Despite their crispy, crunchy texture, these biscuits taste rather bland. The currant pieces are dry, small and not very flavoursome, and the shortcake isn’t at all buttery. Somewhat underwhelming. Better dunked.

#morrisons #morrisonsfruitshortcake

#biscuitclub #arundel #biscuitreview

#theteaandbiscuitclub

 

Ratings

Look: 17

Taste: 12

Dunk: 15

Feel-good factor!: 12

Overall: 56%

Friday 6th March 2020

Morrisons Coconut Rings.

Another well-known favourite reworked by Morrisons. Thinner than the original but crispy, sweet and coconutty. Not great for dunking though, unless you like your biscuits mushy.

#morrisons #morrisonscoconutrings

#biscuitclub #arundel #biscuitreview

#theteaandbiscuitclub

 

Ratings

Look: 19

Taste: 19

Dunk: 10

Feel-good factor!: 17

Overall: 65%

Saturday 7th March 2020

McVitie's Rich Tea Classic.

Classic by name, classic by nature. With their light, crispy texture and smooth, creamy taste, these biscuits are a kitchen cupboard staple.

 

Familiar, reassuring, and perfect for dunking - which only enhances their flavour.

#mcvities #mcvitiesrichteaclassic

#biscuitclub #arundel #biscuitreview

#theteaandbiscuitclub

 

Ratings

Look: 20

Taste: 24

Dunk: 23

Feel-good factor!: 23

Overall: 90%

Sunday 8th March 2020

Morrisons Ginger Nuts.

Although nice to crunch on, these biscuits are great for dunking too - their spicy flavour is enhanced by the warmth and wetness of a freshly brewed cuppa.

#morrisons #morrisonsgingernuts

#biscuitclub #arundel #biscuitreview

#theteaandbiscuitclub

 

Ratings

Look: 19

Taste: 20

Dunk: 22

Feel-good factor!: 18

Overall: 79%

Monday 9th March 2020

Morrisons Garibaldi.

Sniff the open packet and these smell a bit like fruit cake - taste-wise though they’re pretty non-descript. They have a light and crunchy texture, and contain a decent number of currants, but ultimately they’re dry and bland. Best dunked to add a bit of moisture.

#morrisons #morrisonsgaribaldi

#biscuitclub #arundel #biscuitreview

#theteaandbiscuitclub

 

Ratings

Look: 18

Taste: 13

Dunk: 18

Feel-good factor!: 12

Overall: 61%

Tuesday 10th March 2020

Morrisons Oat Nobblies.

Crumbly, oaty and pleasant enough - but not a patch on a McVitie’s Hobnob though. Best dunked briefly.

#morrisons #morrisonsoatnobblies #mcvities

#mcvitieshobnob #biscuitclub #arundel

#biscuitreview #theteaandbiscuitclub

 

Ratings

Look: 18

Taste: 17

Dunk: 15

Feel-good factor!: 16

Overall: 66%

0
  • Twitter Social Icon